cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PVC "dropping" intermittently

admin_2
Level 3
Level 3

Help...Cisco noob here...situation, frame relay circuit to remote site dropping intermittently throughout day. Outage 10-30 secs max. Telnet to router after circuit back up (Cisco 1600, WIC with Serial Interface to Adtran CSU/TSU, equipment in locked closet).... run command..sho frame pvc at router console, the PVC status change time corresponds to outage time. Router never loses power or boots. Had AT&T do numerous test off hours to try and isolate, of course the off hours tests show NTF. I do have some alarms on CSU related to phone company testing. Had local TCOM check from their switch into our equip overnight....no obvious trouble found. I haven't tried swapping WIC/Adtran yet but it appears this is where we are headed. How can I troubleshoot the WIC remotely. I have found some documentation about troubleshooting WIC using hardloopback, but that is only for WIC with female RJ-45...not the type we have. Sorry for the longwinded post. Any help is greatly appreciated.

9 Replies 9

mark-obrien
Level 4
Level 4

1. Make sure that your Adtran CSU/DSU is configured to get its clocking from the T1 line. Clock slips can cause momentary outages.

2. Enter the command "show frame-relay lmi" and see if the number in the "Num Status Timeouts" field increments after one of your outages. If so, the carrier's line card may have problems.

3. Does the line protocol drop during the outages or just the PVC? Again, this could indicate problems in the line card of the carrier's frame relay switch.

Good luck.

Mark

Thanks for the tips, Mark....I will try look at the line protocol status and the Num Status Timeout field after the next outage and I will get back.

Not applicable

I just had another couple of momentary outages. The Num Status Timeouts counter incremented by 2 upon each occurance.

Hello Robbie,