cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Segregating 2 subnets with an 837 router?

a_l_ron
Level 1
Level 1

Hi. I was hoping someone out there might be able to help me out. I work for a school and we have recently bought a cisco 837 router in order to connect 2 separate subnets to the internet. With my very limited knowledge and hours of reading I have managed to accomplish this. However, the 2 subnets must not be allowed to see each other as part of school regulations. I gather this might be possible using Access Control Lists but I'm having trouble finding any useful documentation on the subject as I'm a complete novice to routers and this isn't even my primary role at the school.

So any help in as simple a language as possible or direction to useful documentation would be most appreciated.

The 2 subnets are as follows:

Admin Network 192.168.6.x 255.255.255.0

Curriculum Network 192.168.0.x 255.255.255.0

Thanks for your time.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

money, who has ever enough of it ... :)

What kind of school are you actually working for ?

Regards,

GP

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

Hello,

since your 837 has only one configurable Ethernet interface, access lists won´t work. The following is a creative solution to your problem and lets you keep your 837 and achieve your goal, rather than having to buy a more expensive router with two Ethernet interfaces. It requires a little bit of configuration of your clients as well.

Step 1:

Configure your Ethernet interfaces with a primary and a secondary address:

interface Ethernet0

ip address 192.168.6.1 255.255.255.0

ip address 192.168.0.1 255.255.255.0 secondary

Step 2:

Add a second default gateway to your clients, which must be an unused IP address from their respective subnet range (e.g. a client with the IP address 192.168.6.2 would have the ´valid´ gateway of 192.168.6.1 and the ´invalid´ gateway 192.168.6.254