cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Commands to allow MRTG to graph Wan Port

huytuan
Level 1
Level 1

How do I setup up the CISCO 1605R router so that MRTG is able to calculate the WAN port traffic. What commands/syntax do I need to type in and where. Please give me the commands and all the steps to allow MRTG to graph the WAN port. I am a newbie to MRTG, thanks.

6 Replies 6

r.wilcox
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am not aware of any special command that you need to enable on the router in order to capture and graph wan utilization. MRTG queries the router using SNMP to get stats on the interfaces at intervals you setup within MRTG. As long as the system you have MRTG running on can accsess/query the router, you should be able to get the information you need.

Setting up MRTG can be the tricky part sometimes. But there are several good references on the internet, starting with the MRTG website: http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~oetiker/webtools/mrtg/

Have you setup MRTG yet and tried to query the router?

Thanks,

Robert

I am still trying to set it up. That means I need to create a public community SMNP on the Wan interface. What SMNP syntax commands do I need to type on the WAN interface would you know.

eg smnp interface e 0 ???

Hi

I don't believe you have to specify a community SNMP on the wan interface. As long as the snmp settings are part of the global router config you should be fine. You do need to know what the public community string is however (usually "Public" by default).

For example, on one of our 1602 routers we have the following:

snmp-server community public RO 1

snmp-server community password xxxx

snmp-server trap-authentication

snmp-server contact me@domain.com

snmp-server system-shutdown

snmp-server enable traps config

snmp-server enable traps frame-relay

snmp-server enable traps isdn call-information

snmp-server host 10.0.0.20 public

You don't have to have all of these settings to run MRTG, however.