Views
Helpful
Replies

3500 switch client could not get IP from DHCP Server

goranwong
Level 1
Level 1

HI experts,

I am new to Cisco switch and I am copnfiguring the Cisco Catalyst 3500 series XL switch.

The problem is I have a Windows 2000 DHCP server on the lan connected to the switch, however, all client workstation that connected to that swtich could not get IP address from the DHCP server, but if the client workstation use static IP address, it can ping the DHCP server.

I read the switch config and there is on item states taht no ip directed-broadcast.

I suspected it causes the problem, does anyone know how to enable the broadcast? or there is other reason?

Thank you very much

20 Replies 20

Hello,

the ´no ip directed-broadcast´ interface command will prevent the broadcast address from responding to an echo request, and it is the default since IOS version 12.0. Its main purpose is to prevent ICMP broadcast attacks, called SMURF attacks.

In your case, chances are that you need to configure the interface command:

spanning-tree portfast

on your ports. Without that command, the ports where your clients are connected to run through all Spanning Tree phases and take about 50 seconds before they become operational, causing the client DHCP requests to time out.

Can you try and configure that command on all your user ports and see if that makes a difference ?

Regards,

GP

Thank your for your comment but it doesn't work out.

In that case, could you please post your configuration? Maybe we will see something when we know all the facts.

Thanks in advance.

Kevin Dorrell

Luxembourg

I agree with Georg that it is very unlikely to be an issue about directed broadcast.