Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN 3000 route through tunnel to public internet

matt.weghorst
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

I am not an expert with networking so please excuse my layman vocabulary.

We have a VPN 3000 Concentrator using IPSec via the Cisco client to connect users from outside the LAN/WAN. It currently routes all traffic through the tunnel and then nothing gets back out to the internet once it goes in. So our users must disconnect from the VPN to get to the internet.

Split-Tunneling seems like the logical answer to me as long as the clients are behind a personal firewall. However, our Network Administrator thinks that there are no cases where split-tunneling should be used and that it is not possible to route internet traffic through the VPN tunnel. I have read enough about this to know neither of those arguments are true.

To me this seems like a gateway or ip routing setting that is missing or incorrect. Where can I find information on configuring our VPN concentrator to allow traffic to get through the tunnel and back out to the internet?

Thx

-Matt

9 Replies 9

froggy3132000
Level 3
Level 3

Just make sure you set the tunnel default gateway and that gateway knows how to route to the Internet. I am currently doing this now.(for the last 3 years) I just can't seem to figure out how to make it work on an ASA5500 series appliance.

matt,

to configure tunnel default gateway, go configuration > system > ip routing > default gateways, the third option. normally the ip you are going to put is the internal router.

ryan,

wondering if the command "same-security-traffic permit intra-interface" may do the trick. have you give it a go yet?

Thanks for the info. I knew I was on the right track and I think I get it now.

The are two different gateways listed, the "Default Gateway", and the "Tunnel Default Gateway". After doing some tracerts and reading the documentation it looks like the one I need to change the "Tunnel Default Gateway".