Helpful
Replies

Configure Cisco-Switch 3560-urgent

rania20052006
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All,

I am still New to the World of Cisco.

I received today 15 Cisco switches 3560 - 48 Ports & 1 Core switch 4506.

i know the basic configuration of 3560.

i want to create 3 VLANS of core Switch and each VALN will be for specific reaons.

So VLAN with this Name ( NETWORK-DEVICE) will be for Cisco Switches .

and it should have DHCP for this VLAN only.

Can any one tell me , how i deploy DHCP for that on the Core Switch . or it needs to deploy on the 3560 Switch.

Please Help.

3 Replies 3

amit-singh
Level 8
Level 8

Hi,

You want to configure 3 vlans on core switch and also 0n 3560 too. You should have a trunk link between the switches to carryt 3 vlans.

For vlan creation on CORE:

conf t

vlan 2 name XXX

vlan 3 name YYY

* Note vlan 1 is by defualt

Create a Virtual interface for all vlans if you want to route between the vlans :

int vlan 1

ip address x.x.x.x y.y.y.y <-- Where X is the ip range and Y is the subnet.

Int vlan 2

Int vlan 3

If you dont want to route between the vlans then do not create SVI on the CORE.Just create one vlan interface with an IP to manage it remotely.

For trunk config on 4500

conf t

int gig x/y

switch trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport mode trunk

On 3560:

trunk config

conf t

int gig x/y

switch trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport mode trunk

There is not need to create SVI on 3560 as you have already created on 4500. You can assign an IP to one of its vlan interface to remotely manage teh switch.

Do you want to have DHCP enabled on 4500 or 3560 or you will use another DHCP server.I am assuming you want 4500 as DHCP server.

Do the following

conf t

service DHCP

ip dhcp pool TEST

network X.X.X.X y.y.y.y <-- Where x & y are network and subnet

default-router x.x.x.1 <-- this is degault gateway for clients.

domian-server <- you can also include the DNS servers.