Views
Helpful
Replies

Why do providers like BGP for CE-PE connectivity

NAVIN PARWAL
Level 2
Level 2

Folks,

I am a consultant assisting many customers connect to MPLS providers like (AT&T, EQUANT, etc). My question is that why do providers place a restriction on using BGP only to exchange routes with the PE router. Cisco IOS supports RIP, EIGRP, OSPF. What is so special about BGP that many providers have setup a policy to only BGP as far a peering goes with the CE.

Thanks

9 Replies 9

Harold Ritter
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

BGP is a natural choice for SPs when it comes to connecting customers to their infrastructures. IGPs are not.

BGP easily allows them to enforce policies at the edge of their network.

Hope this helps,

Harold Ritter
Sr Technical Leader
CCIE 4168 (R&S, SP)
harold@cisco.com
México móvil: +52 1 55 8312 4915
Cisco México
Paseo de la Reforma 222
Piso 19
Cuauhtémoc, Juárez
Ciudad de México, 06600
México

i appreciate your response. But to have a policy in place is difficult to understand. Many organizations are running eigrp or ospf or rip and now they have to deal with redistribution and other complimated conversions just to interface with the provider.

I understand when you say that they prefer, but, to have a policy in place that it is BGP or static makes me wonder, atleast that is what AT&T told me when i told them i wanted to use EIGRP to interface with their PE router.

I think you need to look at the difference between Exterior and Interior routing protocols. BGP is THE best choice to connect a customer to the internet. All of the protocols you mention are IGP's and aren't really designed to handle the needs of routing out on the internet. Here is a quick little article I found for you.

http://www.inetdaemon.com/tutorials/internet/ip/routing/interior_vs_exterior.shtml

As I said, it makes it easier for the SP not necesseraly for the customer ;o)