CCM recovery when using TFTP addresses

Unanswered Question
Feb 24th, 2006
User Badges:
  • Silver, 250 points or more

I recently added a subscriber to my development environment. I don't have a separate network so my phones cannot make use of option 150 on the DHCP server. Rather they just get their IP from the inhouse DHCP, then figure out the callmanager via the TFTP address I program into the phones. This has worked like a charm. Now that I have my subscriber, I filled out the second TFTP address to all my phones. Then I shut down my publisher. The following happens:

My 7905 and IP Communicator rehome to the subscriber. My two 7960 and my 7970 go into a continuous loop. They only seem to try to connect to the default gateway in my network and my publisher.

Then the funny thing, if now I reprogram those 3 phones that have problems and make the subscriber the primary TFTP and the publisher the secondary TFTP, they come up again. But if I now activate the publisher and deactivate the subscriber, they once again loop.. so bottom line, even though they have 2 TFTPs, they are only able to connect to the first one.

Since this isn't a standard setup (normally you use option 150 and don't hardcode your call managers via TFTP options), none of my colleagues that set up call managers at customer sites have ever seen this problem. I know my callmanager setup is proper because my 7905 and IP Communicator can connect to either box. All my phones have the latest load available and I've already tried to reset the configuration on each phone.. it has no effect.