Views
Helpful
Replies

Question about RIP and hop count

littlegrave
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am a part of a CISCO Academy and I am studying CCNA2. I have a question about concering the RIP protocol. When a RIP is used in an AS, how exactly the next router will determine the hop count? Is there any field in the ip packet for this purpose. Thank you

13 Replies 13

rais
Level 7
Level 7

RIP packet has a metric field for this:

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/cisintwk/ito_doc/rip.htm#xtocid7

Thanks.

Thank you very much for your quick response.

pciaccio
Level 4
Level 4

The metric field in the RIP IP packet will tick by one for every router that it the packet hits. Once it goes to 15 hops (ticks) it is declared as unreachable....

I don't mean RIP IP packet. I mean regular IP Packet with host information in it. TTL exists, but cannot be used for this purpose.

Assuming that RIP is fine and your destination is reachable from RIP's perspective, then a packet will travel to its destination. In the IP packet the TTL (Time to live) field located in the IP datagram header is the field that you are concerned about. Every time the packet passes a gateway device (router, Layer 3 device) then the device will drop the counter field by one(15 max). If the TTL field reaches zero then the packet is discarded (IT assumes that the destination is unreachable and an ICMP messages is returend to the sender as destination unreachable.

Right, but try to ping someone in your LAN. You will see TTL is not 16 when you send echo request. It puts 128 or above for TTL. I think it depends on the tcp/ip stack which decides what TTL to put. How does next router find what was the initial TTL?

The ttl depend of the application.

See the tracert (windows command)

It put 30 steps.

Hi there:

Sorry but I think this is not accurate.

Don't confuse IP packet with rip packets.