Views
Helpful
Replies

Firewall - Allow MS RDP

mill.choo
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I require to allow access via CISCO PIX Firewall to a Microsoft server using Remote Desktop. What I have done is using web interface to create an access rule to open 3389 on the firewall. No luck, still cannot access. Any other method or suggestion. BTW, I am going thru a DMZ, so I open from internal network to DMZ and DMZ to my external RDP server. Or is there any command line I can use. I am very new to managing CISCO firewall, thanks for your help.

10 Replies 10

a.kiprawih
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

When you mentioned accessing RD server via DMZ, does it went through some sort of proxy server? More specific info will help.

What's your ACL looks like? Do you configure ACL (for inside interface) to allow internal host to use TCP 3389 to connect to DMZ (or proxy if any), and from there access remote RD svr via same protocol?

In certain scenario, user can only access external network, e.g www, via proxy in DMZ, but they are allowed to access other external servers via different service port directly. This require NAT/global/ACL combination.

For DMZ, I believed it should be straight forward, at least like "access-list dmz permit tcp eq 3389

Rgds,

AK

My network do use a Apache proxy server. i didn't check the proxy as I am not familiar with Apache. However, the person managing the proxy told me there is no configuration on the proxy that is blocking.

I configure a Service group RDP to use TCP 3389, then I configure to allow internal host to use Service Gp RDP to proxy and then from Proxy to the external RDP server. What else do I need to do here?

BTW, when I try to connect to the RDP server from my workstation in the inside network, Netstat show my workstation connecting to external RDP server directly with port 3389 & a Syn_Sent state. Does that meant that I am not going through proxy server?

Yes, you're bypassing the proxy.