Warning message

• Cisco Support Forums is in Read Only mode while the site is being migrated.
  • Cisco Support Forums is in Read Only mode while the site is being migrated.

Cisco 1601-R w/ 2 IP blocks?

Unanswered Question
Jun 15th, 2006
User Badges:

I have a Cisco 1601-R router. I have a primary static IP block from my

ISP configured in the router. I am currently using all available IP's

in the primary block. My ISP recently assigned me a second set of IP's

for use. Is it possible to configure my router to accept IP addresses

from 2 different IP blocks, or do I need a second router for this?

Thanks. P.S. I'm a cisco newbie.

Overall Rating: 4 (1 ratings)
cicalese1 Thu, 06/15/2006 - 10:49
User Badges:

I saw this answer on a messageboard somewhere:

hostname(conf-if)# ip address 10.10.10.10 255.255.255.255 secondary

Supposedly, adding this to my config will allow me to start using an additional block of IP's from another subnet mask. Any truth to this?

atif.awan Thu, 06/15/2006 - 20:16
User Badges:
  • Silver, 250 points or more

Yes that is correct. You can use secondary addresses to have multiple IP pools assigned to an interface. But before you do that I have a few questions ... Are you using public addresses directly on your hosts or do you have some form of NAT enabled? If you are using the public IPs directly on the hosts then it might be a good idea to think about changing that to private addressing and doing NAT on your router. This will alleviate the public IP requirement to a great extent and you might be ok with your original pool of addresses.

cicalese1 Fri, 06/16/2006 - 04:19
User Badges:

I have no NAT enabled, and I don't really know much about it.

atif.awan Fri, 06/16/2006 - 04:49
User Badges:
  • Silver, 250 points or more