cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP - 2 Carriers

rpinon
Level 1
Level 1

I will be starting a new project to split the company WAN between two carriers. The corporate router will be connected to both carriers and is presently running BGP with existing carrier. When I install second serial link for other carrier, how do I configure BGP to push same subnets out two differenbt serial links?

Pardon my ignorance, but I'm just getting started in BGP

Thanks

Ray

4 Replies 4

globalnettech
Level 5
Level 5

Hello Ray,

in your scenario, you would need to configure load sharing. BGP selects only one best past to a given destination, so you cannot really load balance. Have a look at the link below, it provides a sample configuration for your setup:

Load Sharing When Multihomed to Two ISPs Through a Single Local Router

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/459/40.html#conf4

Regards,

GNT

You may need to obtain a public IP range (if you don't have it now). Because one ISP will not announce other ISP's subnet to Internet and the load-sharing may be achieved by out-going traffic only, because the return paths are not the same via two ISP to your company.

Or you can use one set of IP for ISP A and another set of IP for ISP B then backup each other.

Hope this helps.

Hi Jack,

Just one more thing, what if we dont have BGP or any other dynamic routing protocol and have only static routes?

Regards,

Wilson Samuel

wiluszm
Level 1
Level 1

Ray,