cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco's idea of hard and soft zoning.

stephen2615
Level 3
Level 3

As I am relatively new to Cisco switches but have used Qlogic for quite some time, I found Cisco's idea of hard and soft zoning reversed. Eg, to me a soft zone is port zoning and a hard zone is WWN zoning. But the MDS training notes have exactly the opposite.

I made a complete muckup with a couple of VSAN's which I had mafe that used WWN zoning which appears to be the default when using Fabric Manager. Each zone had one initiator and one target port in the zone and I had eight zones in the zoneset.

During a recent large migration, the ports on the host (SunFire 6900) had to be moved to give better redundancy and as the switch was using WWN zoning, I could not move the ports on the host. It took me 30 odd minutes to make new port based zones and a zoneset to fix this and when I activated the new zoneset, the host never even wrote one message about this change. I was very impressed with that. Almost every other change I have made with the Qlogic switches would make the host write many entries that were harmless enough but alarmed the operators no end. I put it down to the Qlogic switches being LIP crazy.

So am I wrong with my idea of zoning or has Cisco wrote its own ideas on this?

Stephen

8 Replies 8

reberhar
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Well it's easy, we only have hard-zoning :-))

Hard-zoning actually means that zoning is enforced in hardware instead of in software.

With soft-zoning you rely on the fibre channel name server and zone server to allow a device to only discover the devices it is allowed to talk to on the SAN (i.e. that are in the same zone).

With hard-zoning we actually enforce zoning policy on the port asics of every MDS port.

This reduces control traffic to the CPUs and enforces the zoning policy in hardware (no bypassing possible).