Views
Helpful
Replies

Catalyst 2960 - IBM/Cisco IGESM - Trunk port configuration

fabian.michez
Level 1
Level 1

Good day all!

I am new in Cisco world and try to configure a trunk between a Catalyst 2960 switch and a IBM Blade Center IGESM switch (manifactured by Cisco).

Unfortunately, it seems that the network traffic doesn't cross the trunk link.

I have followed (at least, I think so) the instructions given on the different Cisco documentation papers but I can't find the mistake in my configuration (lack of experience :-( !).

Both switches are using IOS. 2960 uses IOS 12.2(25)FX and IGESM uses IOS 12.2(22)EA8.

The ports are connected through a cross-over cable Cat5e.

Please find below the configuration for each ports:

Catalyst 2960:

--------------

Name: Gi0/1

Switchport: Enabled

Administrative Mode: trunk

Operational Mode: trunk

Administrative Trunking Encapsulation: dot1q

Operational Trunking Encapsulation: dot1q

Negotiation of Trunking: On

Access Mode VLAN: 200 (Workstation VLAN)

Trunking Native Mode VLAN: 200 (Workstation VLAN)

Administrative Native VLAN tagging: enabled

Voice VLAN: none

Administrative private-vlan host-association: none

Administrative private-vlan mapping: none

Administrative private-vlan trunk native VLAN: none

Administrative private-vlan trunk Native VLAN tagging: enabled

Administrative private-vlan trunk encapsulation: dot1q

Administrative private-vlan trunk normal VLANs: none

Administrative private-vlan trunk private VLANs: none

Operational private-vlan: none

Trunking VLANs Enabled: 1,99,200

Pruning VLANs Enabled: 2-1001

Capture Mode Disabled

Capture VLANs Allowed: ALL

Protected: false

Unknown unicast blocked: disabled

Unknown multicast blocked: disabled

Appliance trust: none

IBM/Cisco IGESM:

----------------

Name: Gi0/20

Administrative Mode: trunk

Operational Mode: trunk

Operational Trunking Encapsulation: dot1q

Trunking VLANs Enabled: 1,99,200

Capture Mode Disabled