VLAN information is still present after the user issues the write erase and reload commands on Catalyst fixed configuration switches

Document

Jun 22, 2009 4:36 PM
Jun 22nd, 2009

Core issue

A VLAN data file residing in Flash prevents the Catalyst fixed configuration switch series from returning to factory defaults after a write erase and reload.

Resolution

Catalyst Fixed Configuration Switches 2900XL, 2940, 2950, 2955, 2970, 3500 XL, 3550 and 3750 still have VLAN data after issuing the write erase (or erase startup-config) and reload commands. This occurs unless the VLAN configuration file in Flash is deleted.

To delete the VLAN data and set the switch back to the factory defaults, before reloading issue the delete flash:vlan.dat command.

Note: To save the configuration when reloading, select no if prompted. Answering yes causes the data to be written back to NVRAM.

This is a sample output:

 

Cat2950#write erase
Erasing the nvram filesystem will remove all files! Continue? [confirm]y[OK]
Erase of nvram: complete
Cat2950#
Cat2950#delete flash:vlan.dat
Delete filename [vlan.dat]? (Press enter here)
Delete flash:vlan.dat? [confirm]y
Switch#
Switch#reload
System configuration has been modified. Save? [yes/no]: n

For more information on how to reset Catalyst switches back to factory defaults, refer to  Resetting Catalyst Switches to Factory Defaults.

Average Rating: 0 (0 ratings)

Actions

Login or Register to take actions

This Document

Posted June 22, 2009 at 4:36 PM
Stats:

Related Content

Documents Leaderboard

Rank Username Points
1 177
2 64
3 60
4 50
5 23
Rank Username Points
5
0