Jun 10, 2009 12:57 AM
Jun 10th, 2009


Secure Hash Algorithm 2 (SHA-2)

Complete Definition

A cryptographic hash function used for securing information and messages. Generally, SHA-2 consist of SHA-224, SHA-256, SHA-384, and SHA-512.

The SHA hash functions are five cryptographic hash functions designed by the National Security Agency (NSA) and published by the NIST as a U.S. Federal Information Processing Standard. Hash algorithms compute a fixed-length digital representation (known as a message digest) of an input data sequence (the message) of any length

The five algorithms are denoted as SHA they are: SHA-1, SHA-224, SHA-256, SHA-384, and SHA-512. The latter four variants are sometimes collectively referred to as SHA-2. SHA-1 produces a message digest that is 160 bits long; the number in the other four algorithms' names denote the bit length of the digest they produce.

RFCs and references

Also See:

Average Rating: 0 (0 ratings)


Login or Register to take actions

This Document

Posted June 10, 2009 at 12:57 AM
Comments:0 Avg. Rating:0
Views:3948 Contributors:0

Related Content


Documents Leaderboard

Rank Username Points
1 80
2 71
3 65
4 30
5 24
Rank Username Points