Views
Helpful
Replies

AAA Configuration!!

rajeev.payal
Level 1
Level 1

hi,

I am new to Cisco ACS server for windows.I am testing it on Cisco 1700 series router.

I have created two users in ACS having different shell command authorization sets. And i have created one local user in Router.I am successfully able to login on router with both ACS users through telnet & Console.

But i am stucking with some requirements which i need to test.

requirements:

1). When my ACS is running,I should use only my ACS users for logging in the device,whether throgh telnet or console.

2). If my ACS is down, then I should be able to logged in the device through the local user created in it.This way device will not locked down due to the absense of AAA.

I have almost achieved my first requirement.But I am stucking in my II requirement. Require your help please.

Router configuration enclosed!!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi Raj,

Here you go,

aaa authentication login default group tacacs local

It will let you in using password configured in acs and if acs is down, it will let you in using local user/pwd configured in router.

aaa authentication enable default group tacacs enable

Once you are in user mode and try to login to enable mode--> It will let you in using enable password configured in acs and if acs is down it will let you in using enable pass set up on router

aaa authorization console

This command enables authorization on console port. By default that is disabled and it is recommended to use once you are sure about the commands. Else you will be locked out.

aaa authorization config-commands

Enabled command authoriztion for global config mode

aaa authorization exec default group tacacs if-authenticated

This enabled authorization for telnet (exec) sessions

aaa authorization commands 1 default group tacacs+ if-authenticated

Enabled command authorization for level 1 command

aaa authorization commands 15 default group tacacs+ if-authenticated