Helpful
Replies

Migrate from ACS 3.3.2 SE to 4.2.1 for Windows

tmpoff
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

Disclaimer

I know both of these platforms/versions are dinosaurs and we should be upgraded to something newer such as ACS 5.x.  However, I am a consultant and not part of the decision to do this migration.  I have just been tasked with executing it.  The client is going to move to ISE and has purchased it in one of their regions.  However, this particular pair of ACS servers are providing TACACS+ services so they will be around for quite some time.

Problem

I am contemplating how to go about the migration.  There are ~30 local users and over 2000 devices.  There is AD integration via a pair of remote agents.  We would like to input a fresh/new configuration as opposed to a full backup and restore so some clean-up can occur on the current 8-10 year old devices.  So, best case scenario is that I configure the new (v4.2.1) devices by hand and import the users and network devices.

If I wanted to do it, how would I go about only exporting the devices and users only from the 3.3.2 solution engine?

I thought about replicating the current 3.3.2 install on to a v3.3.2 for windows install then upgrading the temp windows install to 4.2.1 and the replicating just those users and groups to the new 4.2.1 platform but I don't have access to the old media.

Any ideas would be appreciated.  Thanks.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

fb_webuser
Level 6
Level 6

Your best bet would be to install v3.3.2, replicate the configuration and upgrade it to 4.2.1.15 by following upgrade path/procedure since you don't have access to OLD media. You can import the devices/users with the help of RDBMS feature.