Views
Helpful
Replies

Some ISE feature questions

tarek.krull
Level 1
Level 1

Hello guys,

I am relatively new to the ISE and would like to get some answers about features and administration, I couldn't find in the documentation. Would be great if you could help me out :-).

1. I would like to use MAB for printers and all other non cabable dot1x devices

- Is there a way to automate MAC address collection? Otherwise I would have to manually create identitys for every single device (like a wizzard or something, not .csv )

- If MAB is used, does ISE have something like a timestamp feature, where I can detect "dead" devices

2. We are using private VLANs for guest access (just isolated or protected port on 2960s)

- Does dynamic VLAN port configuration work with ISE?

Thanks and best regards,

Tarek

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Ryan Wolfe
Level 5
Level 5

Hi Tarek,

As far as automating MAC address collection for use in MAB, there is not a solution built into ISE for this. However, you could minimize the amount of work you would have to do by doing something like sticky MACs with port-security to initially grab a the MACs, then just pull them out of the config to put into ISE manually. Even easier, clear your arp cache and pull them from there after it rebuilds. Do a little cleanup and there you go. It's not as automated as you'd probably like, but it's better than just doing it one by one.

For the PVLANs, I can't speak with confidence, but I can say that I don't believe it can dynamically assign PVLANs. I guess it is possible, but I haven't seen anything where it has been done. I don't think that it can dynamically build the associations required for PVLANs. I would enjoy being told I was wrong on this one, though.

Hope that helps,

Ryan

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

Ryan Wolfe
Level 5
Level 5

Hi Tarek,