cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

APIC Cluster - Why minimum of 3 controllers?

ericbkchng
Level 1
Level 1

Hi!

I'm just getting started on learning about the Cisco ACI, and one of the things that struck me was that Cisco has recommended (or mandated?) a minimum of 3 APICs in a cluster. Is this a requirement? If so, why can't we just have 2 controllers in a cluster?

In this webpage (http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/solutions/collateral/data-center-virtualization/unified-fabric/white-paper-c11-730021.html), there was a discussion on the number of controllers vs data loss, but there is no explanation about why 2 controllers can't be used.

Thanks!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

mtimm
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

"with the cluster in this state it is unadvised to make changes in the GUI, i don't remember if its even allowed."  

Changes to policy are not allowed by the backend until the cluster is fully fit.  So it doesn't matter if you try to make changes via the GUI or the REST API or the CLI, they will not be allowed.

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

Sebastian Pesic
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I think the recommended minimum is 3 APIC's in a cluster. I believe you can run less than that but it is best explained why 3 is the minimum recommendation in the whitepaper under "Effect of Replication on Reliability".

A good thing to understand is also that the Spine/Leaf infrastructure will still be able to process packets with policys previously configured even if all the APIC's malfunction but you will not be able to enforce new policys.

Hope that helps!

dpita
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello