Helpful
Replies

ACE 4710 management port

JAN DEVOS
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to the 4710 appliance.

Apart from the 4 GE 'data' ports, there are 2 Ethernet 'management' ("console") ports.  I find the description in the "quick start guide"

somewhat confusing. http://www.cisco.com/en/US/partner/docs/app_ntwk_services/data_center_app_services/ace_appliances/vA3_2_2/

configuration/quick/guide/setup.html#wp1010328

Is a first-time serial connection (at least to run the initial config. script) mandatory?  Or can you obtain the same result via one of the 2 Ethernet management ports and using a default ip address (192.168.1.10 ?)

When running the initial config. script (only possible from the serially connected console i suppose), you have to select your management port.

Why does the system in step 5 proposes  you 4 ports, and not just 2? I suppose the intended port for management is one of the 2 management ports, not one of the 4 data ports?

Step 5 Select port 1 to carry management VLAN communication by pressing Enter.

Enter the Ethernet port number to be used as the management port 
(1-4):? [1]:

Why the discrepancy between step 9 where port 1 is confirmed and step 10, where port 1/3 is confirmed in the detals?

Step 9 Examine the entered values.

Summary of entered values: 

Management Port: 1

Ip address 172.25.91.110

etc.

Step 10 Review the configuration details by entering d.

Submit the configuration including security settings to the ACE 
Appliance? (yes/no/details): [y]: d

interface gigabitEthernet 1/3

switchport access vlan 1000

no shut

And why is there reference to a VLAN here, despite it is an untagged port?  The ace is not a LAN switch?

Once configured with an IP address, can the management port be connected to an out-of-band management network for telnet/ssh access, apart from web access?

Tx a lot.

1 Reply 1

Daniel Arrondo Ostiz
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Jan,