cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ace 6500 question

littledavewhite
Level 1
Level 1

new to ace just purchased a new blade, could somebody advise on deployment in routed and single arm mode. if a client connects to the vip can the traffic route back out the vip interface to the servers. we have a dmz were we want to deploy a vip, once the packet enters the dmz and hits the vip can the servers be located on the same subnet as the vip and also a backup server on another dmz or even the inside of the firewall.

3 Replies 3

jteixido
Level 1
Level 1

I am also fairly new to the ACE modules, but I think I can answer your question. Yes the servers can be located on the same subnet as the VIP. As for the backup servers, as long as the ACE can reach the servers via IP you can load balance servers even if they are if different VLANs or DMZ's.

I have a context in one arm mode and would suggest against it unless you do not have a choice. Even though one arm mode is easy to set up, it can be a little hard to troubleshoot if you have source NAT enabled, if you do not have Source NAT enabled on the ACE, you will have to configure PBR on the MFSC of the 6500 and specify what you want to go to the ACE(what needs to be load balanced).

If you configure the ACE in routed mode, be sure that you configure it so that you do not run into an assymetrical routing issues.

Like I said; I am fairly new to these load balancers, but we have very talented folks on this site that can assist you with almost any ACE related question that you may have.

Good luck,

John...