Views
Helpful
Replies

Basic transparent caching questions:

mm7482
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am attempting to perform web caching with one 7325 that has two interfaces connected to two different VLAN's on the same 6500. Although I currently have this working, I ran into lots of problems getting it to work and don't really have a good reason why it wasn't working for most of the day. Therefore, I would like to cover some basics first (since I'm a beginner CDN'er.)

1) Is it possible to dual-home a CE via two different network connections?

2) Do I have to specify any/all interfaces of the 6500 in my CE router list if all of the interfaces are on the same CE? Note: "show ip wccp" on the 6500 does show that the CE has been contacted and redirects are ocurring.

3) the "router id" that wccp uses is actually my router-id specified in my OSPF commands of the 6500. Does this create a problem with the fact that this address is not specified in my router list?

Below are the highlights of the WCCP router and CE config. Thanks for any advice.

ROUTER:

ip wccp web-cache redirect-list 100

access-list 100 deny ip any 128.228.0.0 0.0.255.255

access-list 100 permit tcp any any eq www

interface Vlan144

ip address 199.219.144.3 255.255.255.0

no ip unreachables

ip wccp web-cache redirect out

ip route-cache same-interface

!

interface Vlan145

description STUDENTBACKBONE

ip address 10.10.2.1 255.255.255.0

ip wccp web-cache redirect out

ip route-cache same-interface

!

CE:

interface GigabitEthernet 1/0

ip address 10.10.2.225 255.255.255.0

exit

interface GigabitEthernet 2/0

ip address 199.219.144.225 255.255.255.0

exit

!

!

wccp router-list 1 10.10.2.1 199.219.144.3

wccp web-cache router-list-num 1 l2-redirect

wccp version 2

!

2 Replies 2

Gilles Dufour
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

1/ is ok

2/ the wccp router-list should contain at least 1 ip address of the router.