Views
Helpful
Replies

Data center and GSLB

bermawer1
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am relatively new to data center design and implementation.

I am designing a Intranet data center with active and standby sites which are 20 miles apart. One site (DC1) is active and all the user requests must be forwarded to this site.

The other site (DC2) does not accept any request from users while DC1 is up. In case of DC1 goes down or an Application or database server goes down, a failover of application happens, and all user requests must then be forwarded to DC2. Once the DC1 comes up the DC2 should go to standby mode and users must connect now to DC1. Im using 3 tier architecture for servers. In the 2nd tire I have got web servers and many other servers which will be accessing database servers located in 3rd tier.

We are using 6500 on both sites with firewall, CSM. Database servers are placed behind an external firewall as shown below.

DC1 (similar setup on DC2)

Dual Network Core

|

MSFC

|

FWSM --- CSM---------web and other servers

|

|

Firewall

|

DB servers

My concerns are.

1.Is this design including the placement of CSM correct?

2.What about IP addressing. Should I design different IP networks on DC1 and DC2 switches?

3.Do i need to run HSRP between the DC1 and DC2?

4. Application load balancing is my main concern. Can i use RHI? Will it work when CSM is place behind the firewall?

5. Can I use GSLB on CSM? Can u please provide a sample config for GSLB for Active and standby kind of setup

Plz can any one post standard design for Active/Standby datacenter design with GSLB config.

Thanx

4 Replies 4

Gilles Dufour
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

1.. this is a standard design - no problem there.

2.. you did not tell how you connect DC1 to DC2.

This is important to answer Q2 and Q3.

If you have a Layer 2 link, then you can use same ip addressing and you can use HSRP.

If this is L3, then you need different addressing and you can't use HSRP.