Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Users might experience few discrepancies in Search results. We are working on this on our side. We apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused.

GSS Implementation at Data Center & DR

Hello All,

First off all I would like to say that I have limited experience in DNS implementation.

I have been trying to find the implementation / configuration example of GSS devices at Data Center and DR, unfortunately I couldn’t find one.

Reading the GUI Configuration guide ver4.1and Forum topics helped me understand the architecture and the functionality of the GSS. GSS acts as the DNS server, provided we need to delegate name resolution requests to the GSS for a particular domain.

I have a pair of GSS 4492 at the DC and a pair of GSS 4492 at the DR, this needs to be implemented to load balance the DNS requests coming from the INTERNET. The NS records for the Customer’s Web URL (for eg., test.abc.com) and the A records of the GSS Boxes of DC & DR is hosted in the Service Provider’s Public DNS, for E.g. –

www.abc.com. IN NS gss_DC.abc.com.

www.abc.com. IN NS gss_DR.abc.com.

gss_DC.abc.com. IN A 21.1.x.x

gss_DR.abc.com. IN A 115.189.x.x

The Data Center & DR is not active / active. DR is standby and if the DC fails for any reason, it will be decided by Customer to bring UP the DR {applications which are Shutdown on the Servers are brought UP}.

I have read and understood the configuration procedure of the GSS from the GUI Configuration guide ver4.1. Resources •à Source List •à Domain List •à Answers •à DNS Rule is what needs to be configured.

Before I go ahead and try out the configuration, I need your help to clarify certain queries which I have explained below –