cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie needs CSS setup help

branfarm1
Level 4
Level 4

Hi there. First, I'm brand new to the world of CSS, trying to move up from a pair of old localdirectors.

I'm attempting to setup two CSS 11501's in a HA configuration, and I want to have a load balanced address (VIP address?) in the same subnet as the servers that will be load-balanced.

I also want the CSS's to be redundant, but I'm not sure which method-- box2box, or ASR, or VIP reduncancy -- is right for my desired setup.

Can anyone out there give some advice for this setup?

Thanks in advance,

--Brandon

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

1 virtual-router can be used for multiple VIP.

So, you can get rid of virtual router 2.

You have configured a one-armed setup.

So, you have to make sure all traffic goes back to the CSS.

One-armed seems easy to deploy because it does not require readdressing servers/routers.

However, it requires a lot of attention to make sure the traffic goes back to the CSS and that there is no asymetric routing.

If you can, you should consider a different solution with a client vlan and a server vlan.

Gilles.

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Gilles Dufour
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

I would not chose box-to-box redundancy because the failover time is around 40sec compare to the 4 sec for vip redundancy.

ASR is something you add on top of vip redundancy if you want to have stateful failover. This is not mandatory.

Your config seem to be pretty basic, so you should be able to find a lot of sample configs on this website.

Gilles.

Thanks for your respone Gilles. I have a follow up question:

Is it standard practice to have both incoming and returning traffic routed through the CSS? In my current setup, the default gateway on the load-balanced servers is the same as the non-load-balanced machines.