I would needs at least 96 ports.

So option A is to go with a 4506-E bundle with 2 48 port line cards,

sup 6l-e and a WS-X4712-SFP+E or something of the sorts.   And then

upgrade to the enterprise services license and do all of the routing

and switching for the DC on this one switch.  Means little redundancy

and no failover.

Option B was to go with the same 4506-E bundle, without the extra

license and without the SFP line card and put in some sort of layer

three aggregation switch, possibly an me3600x.

Option C Is to go with the 4503-E, the SFP line card and the IP

Enterprise services license.  And two top of rack switches, either

2360's or 4948's.

I would like to do some PBR on the aggregation switch, but I am unsure if the me3600x is capable of doing that.

I have no experience in this matter so any other thoughts or

suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Dan.

10 Replies 10

lgijssel
Level 9
Level 9

Although it is probably the most expensive solution, the 4506E option A is a very good solution.

Alternatively you could look at the 3750-X series.

A stack of three or four of these perhaps provides a little more redundancy but I would doubt if this solution is cheaper.

The alternative with a 3600ME is not the best option, this switch is intended more for the customer edge in provider networks, not as a DC switch. You are likely to encounter the same issues which you are already observing in the existing solution.

If you really want to do PBR, go for option A if you want to minimize the performance penalty it implies. Keep in mind this is your core switch and it is not recommended to perform this function there.

Personally I would try to refrain from it completely or do it elsewhere, for example at the aggregation switches in the various buildings.

regards,

Leo

Leo,

Thanks for the reply.