Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to backup and restore Cisco Unity data with the DiRT

Core Issue

It is necessary to restore to the exact same version as the Cisco Unity backup. For instance, it is not possible to restore a backup from 3.1(1) to a new install of 3.1(2).The backup files store the precise build version of the backup, and it is checked before a restore continues.

Before a backup is restored, install the same version of the Cisco Unity as the backup. Connect the Cisco Unity to the Microsoft Exchange 55, Microsoft Windows 2000, Windows 2003 or Domino server to be used as the partner back end server. This can be either on-box, in the case of Exchange, or off-box. The Exchange or Domino version that is used on the backup server does not have to match the version on the restore server.

Resolution

The disaster recovery tools (DiRT) are intended as a mechanism to backup all Cisco Unity-specific data on a server and store it on a network drive off-box. In the event of a catastrophic failure of the box, rebuild the box to the point where the Cisco Unity runs as a clean system. At that point, run the restore to bring the box back to where the last backup occurred. Install the same version of the Cisco Unity as the backup, and make sure it runs. This includes part two setup.

In order to connect to Cisco CallManager, configure the Telephony Application Programming Interface (TAPI) Service Provider (TSP) to talk to the Cisco CallManager ports. Once the system works as a new, clean installation, perform the restore operation.

When a Cisco Unity server and one or more Exchange servers are restored after a backup, consider the same issues involved in the backup and restoration of any other system.

Note: The service packs, engineering specials, and service releases that are installed on the Cisco Unity server are not significant to the backup and restore process.

The Cisco Unity disaster recovery tools are available in the Cisco Unity Tools Depot, which is accessible from the Cisco Unity Tools Depot icon on the Windows desktop. Refer to Disaster Recovery Tools Help for more instructions on the use of the Cisco Unity disaster recovery tools in order to backup Cisco Unity data, which includes a link to downloadable instructional videos.

Cisco Unity must run before the disaster recovery tools are used in order to backup or restore data. Do not shut down Cisco Unity or other software on the Cisco Unity server before the backup is performed.

When the backup is moved to a remote location on a different domain, permissions are required in order to complete these steps:

  • Perform the SQLbackup.



  • Perform the backup of the messages of the subscribers.

  • Obtain access to the remote location.

If permissions cannot be granted for any reason whatsoever:

  1. Create a mapped drive. The mapped drive is available only while logged into the server.

  2. Create scheduled jobs in order to move the file to the remote location.

  3. The scheduled job works as long as the account is logged into the server, due to the availability of the mapped drive. Even if the session is blocked, do not logout of the server.

Refer to these sections of Backing Up and Restoring a Cisco Unity System for more information about how to use the Cisco Unity disaster recovery tools in order to backup the Cisco Unity server:

Refer to these documents for more information:

Version history
Revision #:
1 of 1
Last update:
‎06-22-2009 04:02 PM
Updated by: