Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to reset or restore Cisco Unity Express to factory defaults

Core Issue

The restoration process for Cisco Unity Express to factory defaults depends on which version of Unity Express is in use.

Resolution

If the Cisco Unity Express version is earlier than 2.1.1, there is no feature that allows for the restoration of factory defaults. The only way to go back to the factory default is to reinstall the software.

If the Cisco Unity Express version is 2.1.1 and later, issue the restore factory default command in Unity Express offline mode to reset the Unity Express to the factory defaults.

Note:

  • This command was introduced in Cisco Unity Express 2.1.1.    

  • This feature is not reversible. All data and configuration files are erased. Use this feature with caution. It is recommended that a full system backup is completed before this feature is used.    

This procedure illustrates how to restore the system to factory defaults:

  1. Issue the se-10-0-0-0# offline command.    

    This command puts the system into offline mode.

       
  2. Issue the (offline)# restore factory default command.    

    This operation causes all of the configuration and data on the system to be erased. This operation is not reversible. As such, the system asks, Do you wish to continue?

      

    Note: Enter n to retain the system configuration and data.

      

    If n is entered, the operation is cancelled but the system remains in offline mode. To return to online mode, enter continue.

       
  3. Enter y to erase the system configuration and data.    

    When the system is clean, a message appears that indicates the system will start to reload. When the reload is complete, a prompt appears to start the post-installation process.

    The restoration of the system to factory defaults has these effects:

       
    • It replaces the current database with an empty database.        

    • It initializes the Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) to an empty state.        

    • It replaces the start-up configuration with the template start-up configuration that ships with the system.        

    • It erases all post-installation configuration data.        

    • It deletes all user and custom prompts.  

          
       
  4. When the system is clean, the administrator sees a message that states the system will reload, and the system begins to reload. When the reload is complete, the system prompts the administrator to go through the post-installation process.    

  5. The administrator has the option to run the initialization wizard at login to the Graphical User Interface (GUI).    

For information on Installing/upgrading a new release of CUE, refer to: Installing and  Upgrading CUE  Software Image

6000
Views
0
Helpful
0
Comments