Cisco Support Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

CWMS 2.0 - Which Architecture Models are available - Level0, Level 1 and Level 2?

Hello Everyone

I am hoping that the community may be able to assist with my query.

A customer who asked originally asked for a 50-user CWMS 2.0 non-HA system now has asked for a 250-user system with a geographically dispersed (across two data centres) HA solution.


We originally found in some CWMS 1.0 documentation (a presentation) the following description of three different architecture models:




© 2010 Cisco and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.

Cisco Confidential


Non-redundant Centralized (Recommended for initial deployment)

No redundant components

Single Data center only

With Internet Reverse Proxy (IRP) for External Access or without IRP (no external web access)


Level 1: High Availability (HA) (Optional, Can be added on after initial deployment)

Centralized Single Data Center – multiple servers/blades (N+1)

Active/Active resiliency – load sharing between all like VM’s

No Latency between VMs

With Internet Reverse Proxy (IRP) or without IRP (no external web access)


Level 2: Disaster Recovery (DR) – (Optional , Can be added on after initial deployment)

Centralized, Dual Data Center model – “cold standby” mode

Multiple ways to “enable” this site

Requires IT Manual intervention to use DR Site system

Restore DB, Change DNS routing, Change UC Manager SIP Routing (checklist)


We know from the CWMS 2.0 Planning Guide that the HA option (Level 1 above) is still supported, but NOT across Data Centres, as stated here:


The redundant (HA) virtual machines must be co-located in the same data center with the primary virtual

machines. All these virtual machines must be on the same VLAN or subnet. The speed and latency

requirements for connectivity between the primary and HA components are the same as defined previously

for the primary virtual machines.

Cisco does not support splitting the primary and redundant (HA) components of the

system between data centers


But I cannot find any confirmation, or even mention of the “Level 2” option, within the same planning guide.


I can find that there is the Disaster Recovery feature that can be used, and in there it states this:


Two data center disaster recoveryIf you have two data centers and your system becomes unavailable

on the first data center, you can access the system on your second data center and restore the first data

center to the same state


So, it appears that a Two Data Centre option is possible, but this seems to suggest that you have to use the second system to restore the first (failed) system, rather than just re-pointing users (manually) to the still operational system in the second data centre.


Q:           Is the “Level 2” Architecture, mentioned earlier, where manually reconfiguration of certain components, still supported?


I need to reply to re-submit this tender this afternoon (UK time), so any answer greatly appreciated.  I just cannot find a reference to confirm or deny!

CreatePlease to create content