cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Frustrated with Webex

Clifford McGlamry
Spotlight
Spotlight

I am not a Webex expert by a long shot.  We use it for conferencing and remote customer support.  Usually, it works fine.

HOWEVER, I find myself extremely frustrated with the behavior of Webex, and can't seem to figure out if there is any way to fine tune it.

1.  I want the annoying screen that asks you to fill out who you are, who you work for, and the e mail address to GO AWAY.  This is NOT useful, and customer reactions range from mildly annoyed to outright miffed at this.  Common response "You know who I am...you INVITED me", and they are right.  I understood when Cisco initially launched this why it was needed, but it needs to go away.  Is there a way to turn this off?

2.  When running remote support, some customers find it difficult to impossible to get set up where they can share the screen with you.  I just spent 45 minutes on the phone with a not particularly tech savy person who could get past the annoying big brother info collection from #1 above, and then could not get past the next step.  They were trying to describe what they were seeing, and for the life of me I could NOT figure out what they were seeing, and consequentyly, what to tell them to do.  And of course, there is no published guide from Cisco that would TELL ME what a customer will be seeing.  Why does this have to be so hard?  There are other remote control products out there that work as well as Webex, that are FAR less cumbersome to set up.  What does it take to make this easier for end customers to use and for us to know how to guide them to get set up?

Any suggestions appreciated.  I'm at the end of my rope with this product and am ready to actively campaign for its replacement at our organization. 

TIA

Cliff

1 Reply 1

dpetrovi
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Cliff,