Views
Helpful
Replies

Database DIPs using CVP/ICM

matthewpage
Level 3
Level 3

HI All

I am having some trouble working out how i would reterive data from a database. I'm basically trying to send an account number to a DB and get it to return some fields which i can display in CAD.

What is the easiest was to do this? Using ICM or CVP. I cannot find that much info on setting it up for either.

Does any one have some basic examples on a script or setting it up i can take a look at?

Thanks for your help,

Matt

5 Replies 5

geoff
Level 10
Level 10

I'm a Java programmer - so for me, by far the easiest way is to use a custom Action Element in CVP VXML. I actually run a complicated stored procedure (the input is the calling line ID) through the native Microsoft SQL Java driver and get back a structured string which I return to ICM in caller_input. Then I pull it apart using the ICM substring function.

You could also use the built-in Database Element. I'm not a huge fan of it myself, but if you cannot build custom Java elements, it's what you need.

Regards,

Geoff

Geoff,

Are you returning this to caller_input through the subdialog return? all the FromExtVXML's come through fine, but caller_input isn't. 4.0(2) no SR's.

Thanks!

Chad

We have 4.0(2) at this customer. Yep - user.microapp.caller_input, mate. Have you enabled this ECC variable? Is it long enough?

caller_input has to work. It has a red star next to it in Studio - it's mandatory. If you don't put something in this field CVP will run your VXML application again.

You have to be doing something odd.

Regards,

Geoff

Geoff,

As you said I went back and double checked and in my ICM scripts after my app played I was doing Call.microapp.caller_input = Call.PeripheralVariable10 instead of

Call.PeripheralVariable10 = Call.microapp.caller_input

Man to much work makes silly mistakes, thanks for renforcing that it works, I knew it was insane.

Chad