Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

Direct Update of dbo.t_Person in SQL?

I need to make a bazillion updates to the Person table.  Basically, I have a list of new FirstName, LastName, LoginName, LoginNameShadow, Password, LoginEnabled and Description values to change on about 300+ agents.  In a few weeks, it'll be another 1400 agents.

I am a programmer, and that = lazy.  I DO NOT WANT TO SPEND 4 HOURS USING THE AGENT LIST TOOL on the AW when I can write one update query and do it instantly, but I also don't want to screw up the HDSes, the other AW and any Exony boxes sniffing for this data.

Is there any danger in just doing the update in SQL? I'm not talking about changing call details, so there's no "recovery key" to worry about.  It seems like an innocuous data change, and if I ensure the ChangeStamp is also set to GetDate() - I should be OK, right?

What's the worst that could happen?

Thanks!

Chris

UPDATE [asu_awdb].[dbo].[t_Person]
   SET [FirstName]       = real.FirstName     
      ,[LastName]        = real.LastName      
      ,[LoginName]       = real.LoginName     
      ,[LoginNameShadow] = upper( real.LoginName )
      ,[Password]        = NULL      
      ,[Description]     = real.Description   
      ,[ChangeStamp]     = GetDate()   
      FROM t_Person inner join t_Agent on t_Person.PersonID = t_Agent.PersonID

, [loading].[dbo].[RealAgents] real
      WHERE real.id = t_Agent.PeripheralID

Everyone's tags (6)
1 REPLY
Green

Re: Direct Update of dbo.t_Person in SQL?