Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Jumping In

Hi all.

I am brand new to all of this, and looking through these forums it seems like most everyone here is eager to help where they can, which I find to be very encouraging. Having said that, thank you in advance for any and all help/info you might give. Last week I picked up my Cisco CCENT/CCNA study book, and have started this long road of studying. First for my CCENT, and then naturally my CCNA coming after.

So my question! To anyone that has some insight, whether it negative or positive, is;

In your experience, how realistic is it that getting my CCNA will net me a job?

Looking through job listings that require the CCNA, most all want experience. Now Im not complaining about this because I absolutely understand why companies want this. But I do find it somewhat disheartening. I know the CCNA is the entry level Cisco cert and I expect whatever job I can find to be an entry level job. Im very interested in this field and dont want to let the fact that all the job listings I see on the internet requiring experience get me down. So Id like to hear from those already in the industry, any tips or ideas that might help someone like me out whos just getting started with all of this.

Again, thanks in advance for any help. And if someone in another post has pretty much asked this same thing I apologize for repeating it and would really appreciate a link to it

3 REPLIES
Hall of Fame Super Red

Jumping In

Hi Joshua,

I'm sure many others will weigh in here as well, as this is a pretty

interesting topic! I think the chances of you getting an entry level

Networking position with the CCNA cert are very good. Have a look at

my buddy Mike's post in this good thread;