Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic introduction and troubleshooting on Cisco Nexus 7000 NX-OS Virtual Device Context(VDC)

Community Member
01-03-2013 01:00 AM PST thru 01-03-2013 01:00 AM PST

Live chat with Cisco expert Vignesh Rajendran

Facebook_Forum_Template_067.png

When: January 3, 2012 7:00 - 8:00 AM PST (San Francisco; UTC -8:00 hrs)

This corresponds to:

4:00 PM CET(Paris; UTC +1 hr)

8:00 PM PKT (Pakistan, UTC +5 hrs)

8:30 PM IST (India; UTC +5:30 hrs)

10:00 PM (Indonesia; UTC +7 hrs)

What: Facebook Forum. (Live chat with a Cisco expert on Facebook)

How to participate: On the event date and time, go to our Facebook event page http://on.fb.me/VhdeUZ and join the forum. To RSVP visithttp://on.fb.me/VhdeUZ.

Topic Details: The Cisco® Nexus 7000 Series Switches introduce support for the Cisco NX-OS Software

platform, a new class of operating system designed for data centers. Based on the Cisco MDS 9000 SAN-OS platform, Cisco NX-OS introduces support for virtual device contexts (VDCs), which allows the switches to be virtualized at the device level. Each configured VDC presents itself as a unique device to connected users within the framework of that physical switch. The VDC runs as a separate logical entity within the switch, maintaining its own unique set of running software processes, having its own configuration, and being managed by a separate administrator.

Reference Url:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/switches/ps9441/ps9402/ps9512/White_Paper_Tech_Overview_Virtual_Device_Contexts.html

About the Expert: Vignesh R. P. is a customer support engineer in the Cisco High Touch Technical Support center in Bangalore, India, supporting Cisco's major service provider customers in routing and MPLS technologies. His areas of expertise include routing, switching, and MPLS. Previously at Cisco he worked as a network consulting engineer for enterprise customers. He has been in the networking industry for 8 years and holds CCIE certification in the Routing & Switching and Service Provider tracks.

52
Views
0
Helpful
0
Comments