cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Attachment being stripped out, how come?

Jason Meyer
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to IronPort administration so forgive me if this is a newbie quesetion.

I have a client who is trying to receive a .docx file but it is being stripped out by our IronPort.

What I have done:
-The size of the message is 473KB, no problem.
-The attachment is of type .docx which I am not blocking, no problem.
-I have a copy of the attachment and can duplicate IronPort removing it. We have an Incoming Content Filter that is setup to remove specific types of attachments and when it does so it replaces the attachment with a .txt file that indicates the attachment was dropped. So I believe I have found the filter that is dropping it but can not determine why.

My theory:
-My first guess is that the .docx has some embedded content which is triggering the filter to drop it. But I can not find anything in the document that would do so, it has e-mail links and http links, some tables, some pictures, headers, footers.

I have found some suggestions that say to add code to skip the scanning of .docx, .xlsx, etc. type files but I don't want to reduce the protection that IronPort is providing.

Any Suggestions?

10 Replies 10

Doc_ironport
Level 1
Level 1

We have an Incoming Content Filter that is setup to remove specific types of attachments and when it does so it replaces the attachment with a .txt file that indicates the attachment was dropped.  So I believe I have found the filter that is dropping it but can not determine why.  

What is the filter you believe is causing it to be dropped configured to do? ie, what's the conditions you've got it triggering on?

Jason Meyer
Level 1
Level 1

The filter has the following Action: