Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
New Member

CRES User Account Removal

Concerning a corporate managed domain CRES account, what is the best practice to remove users once they are no longer with the organization? It is my understanding that putting the account in a 'locked' state effectively prevents a user from logging into CRES and therefore they cannot view CRES emails unless unlocked by the admin. Is a 'locked' CRES user account permanently deleted from the system after a certain period of time? Or does a request to Cisco need to be made to permanently delete a user account.

Thanks.                

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Cisco Employee

Re: CRES User Account Removal

Guy -

It is against CRES policy to delete users. You have the option to select the individual user and set their status to either Locked or Blocked. This will essentially prevent that user from accessing secure emails for the selected account.

If the user is deleted then the email address can be re-registered and would have access to the old emails as well as the ability to use Secure Compose. When a user leaves the company what you really want to do is prevent that account from being used again, so you should set the user status to Locked.

Hope this helps!

-Robert

(*If you have received the answer to your original question, and found this helpful/correct - please mark the question as answered, and be sure to leave a rating to reflect!)

Cisco Employee

Re: CRES User Account Removal

No - we do not go through and clean/remove accounts.  It will just remain locked for the future.

-Robert

3 REPLIES
Cisco Employee

Re: CRES User Account Removal

Guy -

It is against CRES policy to delete users. You have the option to select the individual user and set their status to either Locked or Blocked. This will essentially prevent that user from accessing secure emails for the selected account.

If the user is deleted then the email address can be re-registered and would have access to the old emails as well as the ability to use Secure Compose. When a user leaves the company what you really want to do is prevent that account from being used again, so you should set the user status to Locked.

Hope this helps!

-Robert

(*If you have received the answer to your original question, and found this helpful/correct - please mark the question as answered, and be sure to leave a rating to reflect!)

New Member

Re: CRES User Account Removal

Robert - Thanks for answering my question. I'm  also curious as to what happens after a user account is locked. Is the user account permanently removed by Cisco after a certain period of time after being locked?

Cisco Employee

Re: CRES User Account Removal

No - we do not go through and clean/remove accounts.  It will just remain locked for the future.

-Robert

416
Views
0
Helpful
3
Replies
CreatePlease login to create content