Views
Helpful
Replies

How to change email routing in IronPort C360

Andi Palantei
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am new with IronPort. I would like to reconfigure my IronPort especially in its mail routing. The following are current and proposed config.

current config

Exchange <----> Mail antivirus Server <-----> IronPort <------> Internet  <------> External user

Proposed Config

Exchange <-------> IronPort <-------> Internet <--------> External User

What parameter in Iron Port should i change to allow the proposed config running well?

Cheers,

Andi

6 Replies 6

Tze Tai Mak
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Andi,

For incoming emails from Internet, you just need to change the SMTP route(s) for your domain(s).

1. Under 'Network'-'SMTP Routes', click and edit the destination hosts (i.e. private IP address of your Exchange server) for your domain(s).

For outgoing/relaying emails from Exchange server, since it sends from Exchange server directly to IronPort now instead of mail antivirus server, you need to edit the hosts under RELAYLIST.

1. Under 'Mail Policies'-'HAT Overview', click RELAYLIST of the listener and add the sender with Exchange server's private IP address. (I suggest to add the Exchange server's private IP address instead of replacing the existing mail antivirus server since it allows a smoother migration. You can remove the old mail antivirus server's IP address later or just keep it.)

For Exchange server setting, edit the smarthost configuration to be IronPort outgoing listener's IP address.

Cheers,

Tommy

Hi Tommy,

Thanks for your solution. I will try your advice soon. Thanks for your help.

Cheers,

Andi

Hi Tommy,

Let say we have the following existing config:

|-------- Servers

|

Exchange <----> Mail Anti VirusServer -<----> IronPort <-----> Internet ---- external usere

|

|<--------->  Exchange (sister company exchange, different domain)

Proposed:

Exchange <-------> IronPort <-------> Internet <--------> External User

|

Servers----|