Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Outbound Filter Help

My apologies up front. I am brand new to Ironport appliances.

I have 2 C350's working in a cluster. All inbound filters are working great. I want to take advantage of the outbound content filters to monitor for credit card numbers in messages. The problem have is that we send out order information to customers regarding their purchases. The order number is a 16 digit value that will in some cases pass a mod10 check, but hardly ever begin with the known credit card prefixes.

The problem in a nutshell:
1) Order number is a 16 digit value which appears in the subject and body.
2) The words "credit" and "card" appear in the body.

I need to create a filter that will catch legit credit card numbers, and not trigger in the order emails.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I will continue to read through the adv. user manual and forum posting.

Thanks in advance!

Ismael

11 Replies 11

Looks like I am making progress by creating 2 separate content filters to address my problem.

Basically, one content filter dedicated to the orders messages and one for all other senders. The threshold is higher on the orders messages. Seems to be working so far.

Can anyone tell me if the Credit Card smart filter contains dictionary terms built in to detect the words "credit" and "card" or is it just checking value length and check digit validation?

kluu_ironport
Level 2
Level 2

Here is a link to a SupportPortal KnowledgeBase article that gets into more detail on how Smart Identifers match things:

How Smart identifiers work

http://tinyurl.com/5vlanw

Concernig your question though, it looks like the Credit card number smart identifier only looks at the number regex. If you want word, "credit" and "card", you would need to have those keywords in another file and add an additional condition that compares this.