Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Question about tagging bounce verification

Hi all,

I'm a really new beginner with IronPort and more generally with antispam. So you will maybe find my questions a little bit newbee but I need it for understand and improve myself :wink:

First I have a C150 with AsyncOS 5.5.1-014.

I use tagging outgoing mails and bounce verification and for some domains, they failed for delivery.

For example: I send a mail at toto@toto.com from my adress: myadress@mycompany.com, the client has an antispam which send a mail back to my personnal adress myadress@mycompany.com with the mail adress probe@toto.com.

What it seems to happen is that probe@toto.com send a mail to my tagged address (something like prvs=myadress=00466690b@mycompany.com) and is then rejected by the RAT. As I rejected his mail and their antispam wait for a correct answer from their mail, they dropped my mail.

So my questions are:
- When I send a send a mail (which is tagged) to an address toto@toto.com, if another mail adress send me a mail to my tagged address, is this mail considered as a spam ?
- Does the ironport wait that only mail addresses I have send my tagged mail in return with that tag? And to dig a little more, if I received a mail to my tagged mail address I send to another people, will this mail untag and then checked by RAT ?

Thanks by advance and best regards,
Arcastor :)

4 Replies 4

karlyoun
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

AsyncOS 5.5.1-014.

I use tagging outgoing mails and bounce verification and for some domains, they failed for delivery.

For example: I send a mail at toto@toto.com from my adress: myadress@mycompany.com, the client has an antispam which send a mail back to my personnal adress myadress@mycompany.com with the mail adress probe@toto.com.