cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Scan revealed weak ssl cipher.

jsalgado2001
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to these ESAs C170s and one of our guys ran a scan and it came up with "SSL weak cipher vulnerability".

Looking in the GUI under System Administration > SSL Configuration I see SSL v3 enabled.

Also via the CLI:

sslconfig settings:
GUI HTTPS method: sslv3tlsv1/tlsv1.2
GUI HTTPS ciphers:
RC4-SHA
RC4-MD5
ALL
-aNULL
-EXPORT
Inbound SMTP method: sslv3tlsv1/tlsv1.2
Inbound SMTP ciphers:
RC4-SHA
RC4-MD5
ALL
-aNULL
-EXPORT
Outbound SMTP method: sslv3tlsv1/tlsv1.2
Outbound SMTP ciphers:
RC4-SHA
RC4-MD5
ALL
-aNULL
-EXPORT

So it looks like these are the default settings of the C170.  I've come across numerous articles that state SSL v3 should be disabled and only to run the following to set all three interfaces, (GUI HTTPS, Inbound SMTP:, Outbound SMTP):

MEDIUM:HIGH:-SSLv2:-aNULL:@STRENGTH:-EDH-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA:
-EDH-DSS-DES-CBC3-SHA:-DES-CBC3-SHA

Per the tech note here:
http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/security/email-security-appliance/117855-technote-esa-00.html

So since I'm new to this, I'm assuming I can uncheck SSL v3 in the GUI interface and also just put in the string in the GUI interface for all 3 SSL Ciphers to use: MEDIUM:HIGH:-SSLv2:-aNULL:@STRENGTH:-EDH-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA:-EDH-DSS-DES-CBC3-SHA:-DES-CBC3-SHA

So in the end my config should look like this screenshot?
http://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/support/docs/security/email-security-appliance/117864-configure-esa-02.png

Any risk of disabling SSL v3 and adding the above cipher command as shown exactly like the screenshot above?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

We just had a TAC opened a couple of weeks ago about the same issue.  This is what was recommended from TAC:

GUI HTTPS:

Methods: TLS v1/TLS v1.2
SSL Cipher(s) to use: MEDIUM:HIGH:-SSLv2:-aNULL:!RC4:-EXPORT:@STRENGTH

Inbound SMTP: