cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

allow vpn pass thru on PIX 525 (ASA 7.2)

admin
Level 1
Level 1

I do have pix firewalls deployed across my network. a sample site is attached in diagram. since i am new to pix world, with less knowledge, please advice me how to allow my users behind 10.2.0.0 subnet to connect to their own corporate vpns. some of them need to connect to MS vpn - domain abc(pptp) and someone need to connect to a cisco pix vpn - domain xyz(ipsec) remote access vpn. what should be my concerns :

1. IP address allocation from other side?

2. security concerns?

how can i allow requests to multiple, multi-protocol VPNs thru my firewall?

anyone who did this similar setup, please advise me. I do have the authority to make whatever changes required in PIX, this box is still in test phase.

Awaiting your feed-back

Regards

MIC

4 Replies 4

sachinraja
Level 9
Level 9

Hello MIC,

These are the standard ports used for IPSEC/PPTP etc:

IPSEC: please open the following on the PIX:

UDP 4500 & UDP 500 - ISAKMP/NAT-T

AH / ESP IP access

TCP 443 - SSL VPN (if any)

you can also add the sysopt commands for IPSEC on your firewall.

PPTP:

TCP/UDP 1723

Are there any ACL defined on the inside of the firewall? IF yes, you need to add the above, or it really doesnt matter. But the best practice anyway is to add ACl on the inside interface too !!

Also, enable split tunneling on the vpn concentrator if possible and tunnel ONLY the traffic that is required to go on the IPSEC tunnel... if you tunnel everything (which is ON by default), there are chances that any rogue packet flooding on your VPN network.. You can allocate a seperate IP pool for IPSEC VPN users and give the required permission on the VPN concentrator. This is always preferred over giving the IP pool from the same LAN network on the destination.

Hope this helps..Try this and let us know... rate replies if found useful..

Raj