Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5510 7.2(3) - Access List Question

jwilson
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings,

I'm running a Cisco ASA 5510 with version 7.2(3) and I've been tasked with permitting some inbound & outbound TCP & UDP ports to/from a specified address space on the internet. 

I'm still a Cisco noob and all the training resources I've gone through cover access lists on a router, but not on an ASA, and particularly an older version such as 7.2.  I'm reaching out here in hopes that I can find some guidance so I won't destroy all communication on my network, hah.

In looking at my current ASA config I see other access lists already configured so I'm assuming I can just set up a new access list in similar fashion, but I wanted to verify here first.

Anyone care to lend their expertise?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

On an ASA your interfaces are assigned security levels. These security levels indicate the trustworthniess of the interface from another interface. Security Levels are from 0 to 100. By default, your inside interface will have a security level of 100 and your outside interface will have a security level of 100. That leaves you with 1 - 99 to use for what ever purpose you want.

1. A higher-security level interface can always access a lower-security level interface (unless specifically blocked by ACL)

2. A lower-security level interface will need specific entries in an ACL to access a higher-security level interface.

3. Interfaces with the same security-level cannot talk to one another by default (although it is possible).

Example 1:

Allow host 100.1.1.1 access to a web server on the inside network

access-list inside_access_in permit tcp host 100.1.1.1 host 192.168.5.10 eq 80

access-group inside_access_in in outside

This will allow host 100.1.1.1 on the outside access to 192.168.5.10 (Web Server) via port 80.