cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA and DSL

dstjames123
Level 1
Level 1

I am going to be installing an ASA (probably a 5505)in one of our small branch offices. Unlike all of my other offices they are using buisness DSL with an 8 port DSL router. I plan on removing the DSL router and putting in the ASA, configuring it to do NAT and setting up a VPN then put a switch to connect the hosts.

My question is: I have never done this before with DSL. My other offices have T-1's. Do you guys know of any problems with doing this through DSL?

7 Replies 7

Level 4
Level 4

Hi,

ASA will not supprot DSL or any other non-Ethernet technologies for that matter. You cannot direcly connect ASA to DSL cable. You need an ethernet connection.

http://cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6120/products_data_sheet0900aecd802930c5.html

Please rate if this helped.

Regards,

Daniel

I will be plugging this into a DSL modem and that has the ethernet interface. Will this work or are you saying that the ASA will not work through DSL period?

Hello james

Starting from Version 7.2, the ASA supports PPPOE client feature... Using this, you can confgiure the ASA to initiate the PPPOE session, using the username and password given by the DSL service provider.. once u do this, the clients inside can work normally without dialing onto the DSL network..

This is the URL, where you can find the configs:

http://cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6120/products_configuration_guide_chapter09186a008066ebe6.html

Hope this helps.. all the best... rate replies if found useful..

Raj

Hi sachinraja,

Is it possible to initialize PPPOA client on ASA 5505? As our telecom here only supports PPPOA and PAP authentication, i tried all the way around but couldn't find any documentation regarding that. Could you please give me a clue?

My setup is:

ISP ---> ADSL router (bridge)---> ASA 5505

Any advice or help would be highly appreciated

Anita