Views
Helpful
Replies

Assistance in FWSM Configuration

haithamnofal
Level 3
Level 3

Hi,

Execuse me, I am new to FWSM but I already have good experience with ASA; I have a deployment for FWSM as follows and I need to consult with you on certain points:

A- The requirement is to create two contexts "FWA" and "FWB" alongwith

Admin Context as "admin".

B- We want to share resources between contexts FWA and FWB. Requirement is that we want to have a production context (FWA) and a staging context (FWB) where staging context will be used to test any service before putting into production.

C- This way both the contexts will have exactly same configuration with same interfaces with identical VLANs and similar Access lists, except the IP

addresses.

My queries are:

1- With FWSM, do I need to enable inter-VLAN routing in my core switch or the default gateway of my clients will be the FWSM intefaces?

2- I recall in ASA and PIX ver 7.x, the multiple context configuration had some limitations when configured to protect the same subnets (e.g. when configuring the same static NATing rule on the 1st context and configuring the same rule on the 2nd context, I used to get an error message related to duplicate rules), so have you come across a similar error and is this an issue with FWSM?

3- Can my requirements mentioned above be achieved with FWSM or will I come across some limitations? BTW, I run SW 2.3(2) in my FWSM.

Thanking in advance.

Haitham

3 Replies 3

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

1) Any servers/clients that you need to firewall will have their default gateway on the FWSM and not on the MSFC. If you put the default gateway on the MSFC for a firewalled vlan then you are not firewalling it, you just route around the FWSM.

However any clients that need to access the firewalled servers will need to know how to route to the servers. If you are using multiple contexts you are restricted to static routing.