Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

DMZ access

I'm new to setting up firewalls and I have a new ASA 5510 that I'm configuring. The way I understand security levels, inside interface traffic should be able to access DMZ resources because the DMZ interface has a lower security level. However I believe I need to add an access-list so the DMZ traffic can pass to inside interface resources. Is that correct?

If my assumptions are correct I have two additional questions:

1. I have a web server in my DMZ and some of the websites need to access server resources on the inside (specifically SQL DBs in most cases). Would the following command work for a website at 192.168.0.37 to access a SQL DB at 192.168.200.5?

DMZ - 192.168.0.0/24

Inside - 192.168.200.0/21

access-list dmz extended permit tcp host 192.168.0.37 host 192.168.200.5 eq sqlnet

2. I need to be able to remote control the web server through RDC for administration from the inside. Would the following work?

access-list dmz extended permit tcp host 192.168.0.25 any eq 3389

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Green

Re: DMZ access

No problem.

"I'm not understanding something...if the outside interface security level is lower than the DMZ interface wouldn't traffic initiated from the DMZ to the outside be allowed just as you described above in the DMZ"

-Yes, until you add an access-list into the dmz interface. Once you add the acl there is always an explicit "deny ip any any" at the end of the acl. So you acl really looks like this...

access-list dmz extended permit tcp host 192.168.0.37 host 192.168.200.5 eq sqlnet

access-list dmz extended deny ip any 192.168.200.0 255.255.255.0

access-list dmz extended deny ip any any