Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

DMZ to "outside only" traffic

Hello all.

This is my first time on this board and I'm also quite new to ASA, so I apologize if I have a too simple question.

I have a classical "inside + DMZ + outside" configuration.

I also have a mail server in DMZ which have to be allowed to reach any destination on the outside (internet) at least on the SMTP port, of course.

If I make an access rule that allows traffic from that server to "any", everything works fine, but doing so the server is allowed to reach any destination, including what is behind the inside interface (internal network).

I didn't find any other option to tell the ASA machine to allow any destination, but on the outside interface only.

I do believe is possibile to have the ASA to allow any kind of traffic from a host on the DMZ to the outside interface only, but I didn't figure out how.

Could any of you help me with this problem?

Really thank you all for your help.

Giovanni

P.S.: I'm using a 5510 machine running version 8.2

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Green

The way to do what you want is with an access list. There is no way to tell the ASA to filter on traffic going to the inside but allow everything going to the outside (well....other than the access list). So, permit what you want to permit to the inside, deny everything else to the inside, then allow anything else.

4 REPLIES
Green

You must first deny traffic to the inside, then allow traffic to everything else. The ASA will process the access list from the top down and stop at the first match.

access-list dmz extended deny ip any

access-list dmz extended permit ip any any

access-group dmz in interface dmz