cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

FWSM Transparent mode and Routed Access Layer help

jt3rry
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all, I'm working on a rather large deployment all Cat 65xx running IOS and designed around routed access layer. The core is a pair of 6509's each with FWSM, they need to run in transparent mode, and will be deployed in Active/Active mode. Being that I'm new to the Cat 6k and FWSM I'm in need of some help. From reading the documentation on the FWSM it looks like I need to use either VLANs, BVI interfaces or bridge-groups to define the firewalling between subnets. Since we aren't pulling any VLANs into the core (we are routing from access-layer to core) is it sufficient that I use "bridge crb" in the MSFC per routed interface, and base my FWSM rules on the bridge-group of that interface? It doesn't look like the Security Context is the way to go to handle the rules between the Subnets, but if there is a better way of handling this please feel free to add any input. Thanks!

9 Replies 9

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi

I'm not sure this will work. Firstly from the 12.2SX configuration guide for 6500's

Layer 3 Interface Configuration Guidelines and Restrictions

When configuring Layer 3 interfaces, follow these guidelines and restrictions:

?Catalyst 6500 series switches do not support:

?Integrated routing and bridging (IRB)

?Concurrent routing and bridging (CRB)

?Remote source-route bridging (RSRB)

Secondly, the problem you have is that you need to allocate vlans to the FWSM before you configure the FWSM with the "firewall vlan-group x" command. In your scenario the vlans are not present on the 6500 switch.