cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to configure Websense on ASA 5520 Firewall?

Tashi BDFCL
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Learner to ASA Firewall. Recently we have purchased ASA 5520 with following version:

Cisco Adaptive Security Appliance Software Version 8.2(1)
Device Manager Version 6.2(1)

ASA 5520 Adaptive Security Appliance 

ASA 5500 Series Content Security Services Mo ASA-SSM-CSC-10-K9

I have configured the ASA with basic configuration. Now i want to implement the webfiltering using Websense on ASA firewall. I dont have any idea about the requirement for this configuration.

I have found the configuration line from google but it seems not working.

My ASA is configured with:

1. outside

2. inside

3. DMZ

I came across with one solution where the websense is configured with DMZ, and i tried in same manner but when i checked the websense server statistics, it shows "DOWN".

I used following line:

url-server (DMZ) vendor websense host 192.168.1.251 timeout 30 protocol TCP version 4 connections 30
filter url 443 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 31.13.68.49 255.255.255.255 allow proxy-block longurl-truncate cgi-truncate
filter url except 192.168.1.251 255.255.255.255 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 allow
url-cache dst 100
url-block url-mempool 2
url-block url-size 2
url-block block 10

Basically i want to completely block the social websites. I can use the CSC content filtering but when user use the proxy utility then blocked websites gets opened.

Please help me out.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Yes, and I believe that you can install it on a windows server or there is an appliance from websense but you would need to talk to them for details.

Value our effort and rate the assistance!

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Can you reach (ping) the Websense server from your ASA?