cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to Setup PIX501

patternnetwork
Level 1
Level 1

I'm very new to PIX but can't get something to work. We have a T1 line that connects to the PIX and then we have the PIX connected to the external network on a Small Business Server 2003. I am trying to put in a wireless access point so guests can have internet access outside of our network. I connected it to the PIX and gave it an IP address on the inside network (192.168.1.X) of the PIX and I can't get it to see the internet. Attached is my configuration from the PIX.

Can anyone help me out?

Mike

21 Replies 21

acomiskey
Level 10
Level 10

You're missing something in this line. Do you have the word interface in there?

global (outside) 1 interface

I tried entering in the new line just as you have it and I got the message "global for this range already exists". Any idea why this didn't work? Would changing this get my get access to the internet through my wireless access point? Does the PIX have to be setup as a DHCP server or can I leave the access point static? Any other ideas. Thanks for your time!!

Mike

Mike

try from config mode

no global (outside) 1

global (outside) 1 interface

HTH

Jon

Jon,

I entered the text you had and this time it worked. But, it still doesn't seem like I can get to the internet. I have attached the new configuration for you to review. To test this I actually connected a computer to the PIX501 and gave it a IP address of 192.168.1.35, subnet of 255.255.255.0, gateway of 192.168.1.1 and DNS of 192.168.1.1. It won't connect to the internet yet. I entered "clear xlate" in at the end and I think I will try re-starting the firewall, but do you have any other ideas? Does that all look ok, or not? I really appreciate your help and everyone else that has offered their suggestions.

Thanks,

Mike

Mike

Config looks okay. When you are logged onto the pix can you ping the next hop ie.

Does this work ?

Jon

Jon,